## Cedar Rapids Community Schools

About Us | Schools | News | Services | Employment

## **District Administrators Recognized**

Four administrators from the Cedar Rapids Community Schools have been recognized by the School Administrators of Iowa as outstanding Area X administrators for 2006. Honorees are:



Central Office Administrator of the Year, Jay Marino, Associate Superintendent for Accountability and Organizational Effectiveness.



Elementary Administrator of the Year, Kathleen Reyner, Principal at Viola Gibson



Middle School Principal of the Year, Steve Archibald, Principal at Taft.



Fine Arts Administrator of the Year, Melissa Gilbert, Principal at Johnson School of the Arts.

To be eligible, nominees must have served as a school administrator for a minimum of five years. Other criteria include evidence of outstanding contributions to the well being of the educational community and evidence that the individual is respected by his/ her colleagues and the community at large.

"We are pleased and grateful for the School Administrators of Iowa recognizing Jay, Kathleen, Steve, and Melissa this year," noted Dr. Dave Markward, Superintendent. "It is my pleasure to work with each of them, and I thank them for their significant and unselfish commitment to the continuous improvement effort in the Cedar Rapids Community School District. I believe they are wonderful representatives of our administrative team."

The SAI district nominees will now be reviewed by a committee of their respective peers in preparation for state awards. Out of the potential 15 nominees in each category, three administrators will be invited to the SAI office for an interview with a committee of their peers. State recognitions will be announced in January.

<u>Contact Us</u> | <u>Intranet</u> | <u>Site Map</u> | <u>Webmail</u> 346 Second Avenue S.W. • Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404-2099 • 319-558-2000 © 1999-2005 Cedar Rapids Community Schools <u>Comments/Questions</u>